Inaugural Utah Flyfishing Hall of Fame Banquet and Fundraiser

Hall of Fame Banquet Poster 2016

The Inaugural Utah Fly Fishing Hall of Fame was initiated in 2016 to honor those men and women who have made major contributions to fly fishing in Utah.

The contributions have taken many forms from conservation projects, political activism to protect the resources, environmental projects, formation of organizations such as Trout Unlimited (TU) and Federation of Fly Fishers (FFF) Chapters to promotion of fly fishing, to enhancing the fishing experience in Utah, promotion of youth fishing education programs, and many more kinds of activities.

These contributions were described in their individual bio sketches on the Voting Web site. The contributions for the candidates have been performed over their lifetime and all have immensely benefited the sport of fly fishing in Utah. All Utah TU and FFF chapters along with Great Western Fly Fishers had the opportunity to nominate up to three persons for this award. Eleven candidates were nominated.

The nominees in alphabetical order were: Dennis Breer, Robert Dibblee, Thomas Doxey, Byron Gunderson, Emmett Heath, Paul Holden, Wes Johnson, Steve Schmidt, Bob Trowbridge, Gean Snow, and Roger Wilson.

The Inaugural Hall of Fame Banquet was a great success. Online voting allowed participation from throughout the state. A total of 1382 votes were cast. The 2016 Hall of Fame selections in alphabetical order were: Robert Dibblee, Tom Doxey, Emmett Heath, and Gean Snow.

The next Hall of Fame Banquet will be held on November 2017. More details will be provided here as the time gets closer.

© 2017 Wasatch Fly Tying & Fly Fishing Expo